Chain of Command

There is a structured chain of command that must be followed for balance in all areas. If someone opposes the chain, the magistrate will intervene to keep the society in order.

At the top of each branch is a single admiral. This person is the leader of the entire branch, leaning on the people below for support. The admiral of a given branch works alongside the other three admirals to keep society moving forward.

There are two generals beneath each admiral, making four per branch. The generals work with the admiral as an advisor in every matter.

Beneath the generals are two secretary altuses each; eight per branch. This is the highest secretary position available, and the honor of promotion symbolizes great dedication to the branch. They advise the general above and work with the admiral during a range of meetings.

Next in line is the commander; two beneath each secretary altus. The commander is in charge of a fleet of sixteen ships or planes.

Beneath the commander are two majors, who serve as advisors to their leader.

There are two secretary mediuses under each major. The secretary medius is the second highest secretary position. They advise the major and commander whenever possible, including during combat, travel and rescues.

Four captains sit below each secretary medius, with a total of sixty-four captains in each branch. The captain is the leader of a specific, set crew; their missions may take them to sea, air or on land.

Two lieutenants are chosen for each captain, and they serve as close advisors for their leader. The main role of lieutenant is to handle the secretary imuluses and their advice during missions.

Next in the chain of command are the secretary imuluses; two per lieutenant. They are the lowest level secretary; often looked down upon by other secretaries who have gained higher rank.

At the bottom are the officers. All of the pledged, active members of a branch who are eighteen and older. At this age, members are considered to be useful to missions; productive and able to contribute in several ways.

Vows can be taken at the age of thirteen. Youth in the branches who are pledged and under eighteen are called promito novus. Those under thirteen are simply called novus.